Logo Unioeste
Unioeste tiene como misión producir, organizar y socializar el conocimiento, contribuyendo al desarrollo humano, científico, tecnológico y regional, comprometiéndose con la justicia, la democracia, la ciudadanía y la responsabilidad social.
Overseeing the structure of Unioeste is the Board of Trustees and the Rectory. Along with the Director of each of the campuses, the Board, Provosts and Rector keep the University its transformative growth that has seen an unprecedented rise into the ranks of the top 30 national universities.

Unioeste began, in 1994, as the confederacy of municipal Colleges, that were created, in Cascavel (FECIVEL, 1972), Foz do Iguaçu (FACISA, 1979), Marechal Cândido Rondon (FACIMAR, 1980) and Toledo (FACITOL, 1980). In 1998, the municipal College of Francisco Beltrão (FACIBEL) was incorporated into Unioeste. In 2000, the Regional Hospital of Cascavel was transformed into the Western Paraná University Hospital – HUOP and transferred to Unioeste. 

Since 1994, Unioeste has quickly evolved into the most important university of the whole Western and Southwestern region of Paraná. The consolidation and strong expansion of the institution athwart the creation of over 65 graduate programs occurred as the result of the accumulated work in the areas of teaching, research, outreach and innovation through an outstanding performance of our professors, administrative staff, students and managers.

Nowadays, Unioeste concentrates the greatest intellectual capital in the area, with the disposition of a gigantic technological and laboratorial infrastructure to meet the demands of a puissant and dynamic society.


Unioeste is located in the most strategic connection between the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans in South America. Situated in a prosperous, puissant and privileged region of the Brazilian state of Paraná, amidst the states of Santa Catarina and Mato Grosso do Sul, is also neighboring the Argentinian province of Misiones and the Paraguayan departments of Canindeyú and Alto Paraná. Western Paraná is also home of a World Heritage and one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World – the Iguassu National Park and the Iguassu Falls, the Itaipú Hydroelectric Dam and the Itaipú Lake.

This region is characterized by its diverse population, results of a series of  miscegenation between Portuguese and Spaniards settlers, native Indians and African slaves along with the second migratory wave occurred by Germans, Italians, Poles, Japanese, Ukrainian, Austrian, Hungarian, Slav, English, Spaniards, Syrians, Lebanese, Chinese and Swiss. Nowadays, it is also possible to encounter fellow Argentinians, Paraguayans, Bolivians and Haitians living here.